Poem: One Day to Bloom

One Day to Bloom: A Poem by William Thiele

 

            “If you bring forth what is within you, what you bring forth will save you.” Jesus

 

In the deepest recesses of my soul

You whisper my name,

my one-of-a-kind name.

You tell me who I am.

And then,

before I hardly know my own Truth,

You tell me to say it from the housetops.

 

It’s like I don’t fully know who I am,

or what I’m here for,

until I say it out loud,

shout it even.

 

Like a flower bursting forth in color

for one day

You say things in my darkness,

and ask me to reveal those secrets

in the light.

You insist

that I must bring forth

what is born within me,

both my darkness and my light.

Only this, you say,

can save me.

 

I am waiting now,

drawing in breath,

drinking in the nutrients You provide,

wading up to my waist

in the dark matter

of the hardships of this human life,

watching for the next emergence

a burst of color and light.

 

Will it be another book or movie?

Will it be that risky project

I’ve always known you were calling me to?

Will I even know what You’re doing

deep in me?

Or will the pregnancy be brief,

and the birth long and beautiful?

 

And when some want to praise me,

instead of glorifying You,

will I deflect it

and sing Your song even louder?

And when some want to revile me

even some family and friends,

will I stand firm

and follow Your direction

and be You in me?

 

Will I clasp Your birthing with both arms

in a full embrace,

and then set it free

and let it fly

and be saved

by letting it go

into the world,

Your world,

free world?

 

Lord of every single thing that lives,

if this is my one day to bloom,

then do Your thing through me.

Use me any way You want.

And when I close my eyes

on this one day,

may I really know

I am You.

About soulcare4u

I am the author of Monks in the World: Seeking God in a Frantic World, published by Wipf & Stock and available through Amazon.com; and of a blog on Wordpress.com, "A Contemplative Path." I serve as the founding spiritual director of The School for Contemplative Living (www.thescl.net), adjunct faculty of Loyola University, and as a pastoral counselor and spiritual director in private practice.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

