Meet Me at the Center

So when I drop down into the field of awareness,

the one they call mindfulness,

and watch my own stream of thoughts and feelings,

and see the interplay

as one temporary visitor dissipates

and the next one arrives,

I begin to know

the country of being is vast.

 

In that country, from that viewpoint,

I can’t really say these are my thoughts,

for their visits are so brief.

And who really knows their origin or destination?

And when I notice some strong emotion,

can I claim it as my own

when it will leave my guesthouse so soon?

Shall I not say

there was a visitor who has now gone?

 

And now I would fall further

beneath that field of awareness

into being itself.

Thoughts fade into the background,

feelings seem remote.

The Breath of Life rises and falls.

This is the realm of oneness.

Life is happening in the deeps,

air is passing in and out,

and I am a silent witness.

 

But there is more,

for beneath awareness there is the center of being

where I open the door of my heart to You

and we breathe each other in and out.

The unsayable oneness of being comes

and I am You.

The myth of our separateness has vanished.

We are three in one

you, me, and the One who is us.

 

No wonder Jesus said,

“I am in Abba, and Abba is in me.”

Blessed blasphemy we all misunderstood.

 

All is well now, for all are one

in the center of being.

 

Did you want to get to know me better, or I you?

Meet me at the Center.

About soulcare4u

I am the author of Monks in the World: Seeking God in a Frantic World, published by Wipf & Stock and available through Amazon.com; and of a blog on Wordpress.com, "A Contemplative Path." I serve as the founding spiritual director of The School for Contemplative Living (www.thescl.net), adjunct faculty of Loyola University, and as a pastoral counselor and spiritual director in private practice.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

