When tension rises, I bow

When tension rises,

I bow.

When the anxieties steal my sleep,

and create a mental loop of fearfulness,

and stimulate a sense of being altogether lost,

I grow still.

Bowing in stillness is not a sign of holiness.

It is me finally remembering

there is no other way

to open the door

into Your presence.

After the other ways all fail,

I bow in stillness.

About soulcare4u

I am the author of Monks in the World: Seeking God in a Frantic World, published by Wipf & Stock and available through Amazon.com; and of a blog on Wordpress.com, "A Contemplative Path." I serve as the founding spiritual director of The School for Contemplative Living (www.thescl.net), adjunct faculty of Loyola University, and as a pastoral counselor and spiritual director in private practice.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

