A Strange Dream

William 2Perhaps you can tell me the meaning of the following dream, from which I have just awakened, but don’t be too quick to figure it out, and wait until it speaks of its own accord. May the Mystery ripen this seed into fruit in our lives.

I have been taken prisoner by a follower of Islam who seems a bit angry with me. We are standing in the desert sand, yet there is a lake next to us with gentle waves lapping at the shore. He calls a younger man to come over and show me how to kneel down and bow in the sand, until my face is in the sand and my arms outstretched across the sand in prostration.

Both men leave as I practice this prostration in the sand several times. Instead of this being some difficulty, I find joy arising within, and whisper the name “Allah.” The young man returns and we embrace as brothers.

When I awaken from this dream, the joy from the dream is still with me. This form of prayer prostration has been part of my practice for years, and we share it in our sacred yoga classes. The practice seems right at home for the contemplative, and is mentioned in my book, Monks in the World.

I learn that the word for the five times a day prayer of Muslims is salat. I read that about 50% of Muslims practice this salat in prostration five times a day, wherever they are around the world. So I will stop here, and invite your response, as I go practice my salat on the carpeted floor of my bedroom.

About soulcare4u

I am the author of Monks in the World: Seeking God in a Frantic World, published by Wipf & Stock and available through Amazon.com; and of a blog on Wordpress.com, "A Contemplative Path." I serve as the founding spiritual director of The School for Contemplative Living (www.thescl.net), adjunct faculty of Loyola University, and as a pastoral counselor and spiritual director in private practice.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Strange Dream

  1. Len Delony says:

    Very hopeful dream William. Thanks for sharing. I believe there are many different contemplative prayer practices that are deeply humbling and can help us find a common ground of respect and appreciation. Holy One, awaken us and lead us all into Your way of love…..

  2. Roger says:

    I believe that there is one true God that has many names. Praying in that form is a show of obedience and respect to our devine creator. You also showed respect to your brothers of a different faith and they were honered and pleased. We need to put aside our petty differences and love and respect each other. We are not in a position to judge but are to strive for peace, love, compasion and respect. Thank you Lord God for forgiving me my sins as I will forgive and pray for those that sin against me. I will love you with all my heart and love others, no matter what cultural differences, as I love myself. In Jesus name, Amen
    Have a blessed day 🙂

  3. Carol Ballantine says:

    Maybe it means that we should watch the DVD from Living the Questions, The Jesus Fatwah. I have it in hand. I hope we can find some Muslim friends to come watch it with us and add to the discussion.

Leave a Reply

