Dropping Everything

????????????????????

Dropping everything I could be doing this morning

on a day of rest from labors,

and dropping down

beneath the wounds of a lifetime,

I go in search of what is very near.

 

Surrounded by other seekers

through the centuries,

broken, lost, and lonely all,

and sitting in their good company,

we go down and in,

even when there is a mighty tug

to keep distracting ourselves with unceasing entertainments.

 

We fall down, in fact,

into that spacious place where distractions cannot reach us.

For we have inner work to do:

gathering up all our old wounds

and bringing them into contact

with our deeper wholeness.

 

On this Labor Day

our labor is holding in loving awareness

all that has troubled us

until it dissolves

into solidarity with all who suffer.

For we know the One who has suffered

sitting here with us

and cherish His coming.

 

This welcome

makes us willing

to drop everything we could be doing today,

willing to be right here

in His good company,

Home.

 

This summer my calling has gradually become clearer than ever. For decades I have been called to a life of prayer for the world, and in these last decades of ministry I have one leading: helping others find their way into the inner sanctuary, so they too can find True Home. When the tug of distractions has grown strong, I have needed the good company of other spiritual seekers, and still do. And in gratitude I want to dedicate the rest of my life to guiding those I can through their brokenness and wounds into the Presence. May we all know solidarity in our suffering and comfort in finding Home together.

About soulcare4u

I am the author of Monks in the World: Seeking God in a Frantic World, published by Wipf & Stock and available through Amazon.com; and of a blog on Wordpress.com, "A Contemplative Path." I serve as the founding spiritual director of The School for Contemplative Living (www.thescl.net), adjunct faculty of Loyola University, and as a pastoral counselor and spiritual director in private practice.
This entry was posted in Contemplative Wisdom, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dropping Everything

  1. Merry says:

    Thank you for helping me along my journey into the inner sanctuary and my true Home. Merry

Leave a Reply

