From my heart I say…

Self-compassion meditation

Dear sisters and brothers,

There is so much I want you to know, you searchers, and seekers, and those of you who know a deep longing for Something More, and those of you who fear you will never find it, and those of you who forgot how much you need it, and those who can barely imagine the possibility that there could be Something More calling out for you, from inside you, stretching across what seems like many miles, and trying to reach you with The Message, so that you are able to finally be free.

There is so much I want you to know, but can’t put into you with words, because these things are only known from within by personal experience, and only then will they mean so much to you that you will not be able to breathe without them; but if I could share them across the invisible web of divinity connecting us all, I would want you to know that you are worthy now of love and belonging. There it is, a Truth that changes everything: “worthy now, not if….”

If only I could place that into your deepest being, so you could finally rest, and fall down, and give up your ceaseless striving, and drop all need to perform, and let go of hustling for what is already here for you. I would call down into the well of your grief and say, “Be comforted now.” I would climb the walls of your best defenses and shout just over the top, “Be who you really are.” I would swim across your widest river and tell you, “You have been beloved since your first breath.” I would hike across your vast wilderness and invite you to listen in the silence with me, until our souls become as one, and are quieted within us, and we both know the Center of Being firsthand.

If my words were not so powerless, I would tell you to finish reading your books, even your most cherished ones, for they can protect you from direct contact no longer, and I would help you give them away so that you feel stripped naked, like some Adam or Eve in the Garden, and I would pray your shame would dissolve so that you could feel the original enchantment of that divine-human union. I say, “Let knowledge end, so direct contact can begin, right now.”

Isn’t it time for that old, nagging sense of aloneness to fall away, and be replaced by the joyful dance of communing with us, your kin, your spiritual family, your contemplative friends? Isn’t it time for us all to settle into the inner stillness where we are finally Home, even those who thought you were strangers? Do you know there is a community waiting for you, whose hearts are as your heart, who are close as breath.

Close your eyes now, and feel our nearness, and join us in the circle dance of the beloveds. Come down into the inner country where we can join the throng, the millions, the many who have walked here before us and the many who are coming Home now. Come home, come home, you who are weary come home. Earnestly, tenderly, we are all calling: come Home.

About soulcare4u

I am the author of Monks in the World: Seeking God in a Frantic World, published by Wipf & Stock and available through Amazon.com; and of a blog on Wordpress.com, "A Contemplative Path." I serve as the founding spiritual director of The School for Contemplative Living (www.thescl.net), adjunct faculty of Loyola University, and as a pastoral counselor and spiritual director in private practice.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to From my heart I say…

  1. Suzanne G Gould says:

    Beautifully written William! Love, Suzanne

Leave a Reply

