The Gate of Heaven is Everywhere! Episode 4

IMG_0085

One blessed morning, after meditation, I sat at my desk to write, and this is what I heard:

“Go to the wide-open spaces of your inner sanctuary,

the canyons and caverns of your own soul,

and you will discover Wild Divinity

dancing naked around sacred fires,

One who is with you there

and everywhere across the wild world.

 

Descend now,

while the inner drums have your attention,

for soon enough

all the other calls of this world will drag you away by the hair

and you will be lost, again,

forgetting the beckoning of the Inner Voice altogether.

 

Now is the time for the sacred adventure

the only precious breath you are promised.

Don’t waste it with vain attempts to fill all your empty spaces.

 

Go to the place called barren.

Stand in the place called empty.

And you will find God there.[1]

Meet Him in your inner wilderness

and you will begin to see Her everywhere!”

*

Wow, that is a scary call. One part of me hears it as an adventure waiting to happen. But another part of me wants to run like hell away from “canyons and caverns” of the soul, and “dancing naked around sacred fires,” and descending and getting “lost, again.” One lady in one of our groups heard this poem and said, “Who wants to meet a Wild Divinity?” One part of me does. The other part, the one that dominates much of my life, just wants to stay comfortable and treat life like a big, old easy chair. Sometimes I do still long for a sacred adventure with a Wild Divinity, and that sends me back into meditation.

That call to keep going down into my inner sanctuary rearranges my life. The Wild Divinity does show up sometimes. He makes His way down into my soul to disturb, cajole, comfort, or guide. Sacred moments do arise for a moment. I do my part, as best I can, by holding the space for the Sacred to appear. I practice my centering. What happens next is out of my control. But if I have practiced opening my eyes and ears, I might discover a gate of heaven.

Walking a contemplative path means discovering an inner sanctuary where the Holy One resides, and then noticing that the gate of heaven is everywhere in the world around us. It is a journey inward and a journey outward. Everyday mystics on this path search for the Divine within and wherever we go. In between, we often make messes of our lives. Then we start over. If we are faithful in our task, and practice together long enough, we might find a way to join the Weaver in repairing the torn fabric of the world.

[1] Joan Sauro, Whole Earth Meditation, found in Jan L. Richardson, In Wisdom’s Path, 57.orld’s soul.

[1] Joan Sauro, Whole Earth Meditation, found in Jan L. Richardson, In Wisdom’s Path, 57.

About soulcare4u

I am the author of Monks in the World: Seeking God in a Frantic World, published by Wipf & Stock and available through Amazon.com; and of a blog on Wordpress.com, "A Contemplative Path." I serve as the founding spiritual director of The School for Contemplative Living (www.thescl.net), adjunct faculty of Loyola University, and as a pastoral counselor and spiritual director in private practice.
This entry was posted in Contemplative Wisdom and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

